Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol – Movie review

My issue with the Mission impossible films is, if I wanted to watch a James bond type movie I would just watch James Bond,Tom Cruise can try as much as he likes but he aint no Bond.

The whole franchise seems like a watered down version of 007,as for Ghost protocol,it was OK,some nice stunts throughout the movie,but at some stage they become so unrealistic I start to prey that maybe,just once they could go wrong,just once,Tom lose his grip,falls 1 mile down and turns into a squashed tomato!

I say this because the stunts are so over the top that you never really care if he lives all dies because the reason for him surviving is just so unbelievable.

Simon Pegg picks up another paycheck playing the simple English nerdy guy,I love Pegg for his British movies,but his character in this flick is beginning to grind,nobody could be this stupid and annoying in real life unless they suffered with a mental illness.

6/10

13 thoughts on “Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol – Movie review”

  1. Movie enjoyment is about the willing suspension of disbelief, and sometimes you just can’t suspend it.

    As for Pegg’s character, some of the most brilliant men I have known (high energy physicists) appeared mentally challenged with no common sense, so I had no trouble believing him.

    The stunts were over the top and I found myself walking out of the room.

  2. I’ve actually never seen any of the Mission Impossible movies, but I had similar feelings regarding the 2nd Matrix. There was just too much crazy action that I couldn’t follow that halfway through the movie I lost interest and started thinking about my homework.

  3. Well I think I watched the first MIP and fell asleep,have missed the rest and thought maybe it had improved by the fact that they were on their 4th installment,oh well,it was worth a go

  4. I’m willing to give them a try for my blog, but on an individual level, I doubt I’d enjoy them. You said they were like James Bond done badly, and I don’t like James Bond movies. Sacrilegious, I know, but it’s true.

  5. I’ve never had the opportunity to ask this of a person from the UK. In your opinion, who is the best Bond? Maybe you should write a post on it. I couldn’t, considering, and even if I did like Bond movies, based on what you said about the relationship between British people and Bond, I feel like I’d be squelching on your territory.

  6. HA, Im not a big Bond fan,its been around since before I was born,I would much imagine most people in England feel a sense of pride regarding Bond,there are not that many British hero’s that come off as cool,that have been going for so long,well unless you bring in Austin Powers …

  7. All tme favorite for me would be American Beauty. Have you ever seen it? But I think the best movie ever made was The Shawshank Redemption. Cliche, I know, but everyone says that for a reason. What about you? Also, if you don’t mind me asking, what is your name? I feel kind of weird messaging you when I only think of you as Better than IMDB.

  8. I just presumed Here’s was your first name 🙂 My name is Kev,and you ?
    I thought American beauty was a great film,it reminded me of a serious version of Ferris Buellers day off,with him talking to himself all day.

    Its hard to say my favourite film but I like it when im surprised by a film,so in that sense ”The Ordeal” is one of my favourite films,but I could mention a million others

  9. I’ve actually never heard of it. I will have to put it on my Net Flix. But I know what you mean. I have a page on my blog where I list my top ten favorite movies, and it was so hard to narrow it down to 10.

    Interesting. I never would have linked American Beauty to Ferris Bueller’s Day off, but I think I see what you mean. In both films the main character asserts his independence and masculinity. I personally thought it was a modern version of the Great Gatsby, but that’s probably the English major in me talking.

    I’m Allison. Nice to meet you Kev.

  10. There is no real comparison in those two movies,one is a cheesy 80’s comedy,the other is a modern day masterpiece.
    I would be surprised if Netflicks will be showing The Ordeal,if they do it I imagine it would be edited to the point that it would make the movie even more confusing,Take it easy Allison

Leave a Reply

