The Dark Knight Rises: Movie Review

For me this was always going to be the most difficult of the three. Batman Begins caught most people of guard, when it came about most people were like “another Batman movie”, after people where like “fuck, did you see the new Batman?”. When the Dark Knight was released there was a frenzy, I havent met man people who didn’t like this movie and if I have they are not worth knowing. There are not to many 10/10 movies out there, but the Dark Knight sure was one of them for me.

I couldn’t contain my excitement waiting for The Dark Knight Rises. That was my first mistake here, I avoided all trailers this year and advanced reviewers comments, I wanted my own thoughts on what I was viewing on the day. In my mind’s eye I wanted this movie to eclipse part 2, but that was always going to be a tall order.

When I came out of the movie the pedestal I put this movie on was given a firm boot. It was a very good movie….it just wasn’t the great movie  it should have been. I’m not going to give spoilers away for the can’t be bothered to go and watch at the cinema people. The trouble with this movie is, there are to many stars on show, everyone seems to be the now or has been. I guess everyone wanted  a piece of saying they were in the Nolan Batman series. They should have just cooled it though, through out your saying to yourself “oh that’s so and so from blah blah and that’s so and so”.

What about the actors we did have? Batman or should we say Christian Bale was flawless to the end, his skills never diminish over the whole series. The stand out in this movie for me was Anna Hathaway, I was wasn’t to sure she could pull it off,” but boy did she”. If you thought Pfeiffer and Berry looked fine in rubber then you’re not going to be let down here, Anna sure was menacing. Tom Hardy was back to his most brutal, playing one of the most eagerly awaited nemeses, the baneful Bane, you need to tune in your listening skill here as the mask he wears distorts the sound. There are also fine performances from Joseph Gordan-Levitt, Micheal Cane and Morgan Freeman and of course Garry Oldman. One person I was surprising let down with due to her last scene in the movie was Marion Cotillard, I’m not going to say what happens, but it spoiled what she did before hand.  Christopher Nolan is gonna have a pretty impressive collection of Christmas cards this year.

Sometimes you feel that the movie is a little long-winded, I guess you would after 2 hours 40 Minutes. Saying that though, you kind of never want it to end.

I really wanted it to be an 11 out 10, but it could only reach a respectable

9/10

I can’t see anyone wanting to take this project  on after Mr Nolan, good luck to who ever tries.

Yappy

2 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises: Movie Review”

Leave a Reply

