High Anxiety (1977) Movie review – Mel Brooks is funny but this movie hurts your head after a while

Just finished this one,there were moments I found hilarious,then moments that were just dam strange,this is the pattern throughout the movie,it’s not a bad thing, but it does become tiresome after a while,the first few jokes hit the high laughter notes, but after you see the pattern, you spend the rest of the movie expecting the strangeness and are not surprised by it.

Nothing in my eyes, compares to Young Frankenstein and the Producers,I’m not saying the rest of Mel Brooks work is crap,it just becomes a bit repetitive at times,that said I can appreciate that back then he would have been seen as a comedy rebel,and his material would seem somewhat dangerous,as for this film,it just made me sleepy after thirty minutes.

6/10

KO

3 thoughts on “High Anxiety (1977) Movie review – Mel Brooks is funny but this movie hurts your head after a while”

  1. I am in synch with you on this one. When I saw it, I wondered if Mel Brooks had passed his peak, but wasn’t Spaceballs way after this one? I thought Spaceballs was hilarious.

Leave a Reply

