Exam (2009) Movie review – A good ”who is it” movie

I wish they would make more movies like this,it was recommended to me by a fellow blogger http://wordschat.wordpress.com/ It’s a situation movie,meaning the camera stays in one room for the majority of the movie; Not only does this create a need for great writing,it also allows an independent movie maker to keep the budget low without compromising the quality of the film.

Eight characters enter a room to take an exam,after they are given instruction ,it’s up to them to be successful.

*** SPOILER ALERT ***

All the applicants want a job working for one of the richest men in the world,when the quiz/game kicks off, everyone suspects the other as a plant or just general bad egg.

I can’t say a bad word about the film,it keeps you guessing and was intriguing throughout,my only negative was the casting of Jimi Mistry,I didn’t believe in his character or his acting in this film,he is not a bad actor, but I thought he struggled to play the deep brooding type.

8/10

KO

14 thoughts on “Exam (2009) Movie review – A good ”who is it” movie”

  1. Glad you liked it, I found it on Netflix and said you guys have to see this. Mistry was a mystery as to why he was cast. Maybe to show he can break out of his typical role. I loved the suspense filled climax. It treated the viewer with intelligence.

  2. Yes I agree,if this was your average American release they would have watered it down and it made it easy to work out what was going on.

    Thanks for the recommendation,I owe you one in return – If you have not seen it already have a look at Audition,do not look it up or check reviews,just download it and be patient is my advice,thanks again

  3. Sorry to be apin but I had to look it up on imDB. Only looked at titles not info. What year was it released, who is one star I could look up? Thanks. BTW Lawless was an 8/10. LaBeouf can act. Who knew?

  4. Awesome film. I was totally trapped!

    Which similar low budget minimal sci-fi can you reccomend?
    I really enjoyed The Man From Earth (dialogue based sci-fi about a very curious theory), Version 1.0 (surreal cyberpunk) and Coherence (this one is a gem if you liked The Exam).

Leave a Reply

