Prometheus (2012) Movie review – Best prequel ever made!

When classic movies get mentioned over the years there is normally some spotty fan somewhere who dreams that one day the creator will make a sequel,well I am sure there were spots popping all over the world when the news landed that the maker of Alien was making a prequel.

After what George Lucas did to the Star wars franchise I am surprised that any director has the nerve to bring life into an old flame.

Well Ridley Scott seems to have the nerve,but did he pull it off ? I would have to sway on the side of yes.

One of the most impressive aspects of this movie is the unwillingness to make it appealing to the fans who do not care about the story or have not seen the original movie,there are so many questions that were asked in Alien,this movie begins to answer them without making it too easy.

This really is a stella cast,in fact I would go as far as saying it is the best cast ever put together for a horror movie – Michael Fassbender(300),Idis Elba (The Wire),Guy Pearce(Memento) and Charlize Theron(Monster).

Ridley Scott treats the viewer like a person who knows a secret that the rest of the cast does not without the viewer realising that the biggest secrets and twists are still to come.

My only negative is the design of the film to be one of several,they are already making the second prequel,so with this in my mind they leave a bridge between this film and that,I didn’t enjoy it when the Matrix 2 and Twilight attempted it,saying that I have a feeling the investment spent in watching this movie will pay off when the next is released.

They have raised the bar in my eyes,this movie has intelligence written all over it.

7.5 / 10

KO

3 thoughts on “Prometheus (2012) Movie review – Best prequel ever made!”

  1. Believe it or not I haven’t seen any of the Alien movies so this should have been a mystery to me. It kinda of worked for me. Don’t recall if I wrote a review. I didn’t get why they let the infected guy even near the ship and Guy Pierce was buried in the make-up. I wanted to learn more of him and figure out why he didn’t know what as to happen with him, after all he brought them there. So while it looked cool, very cool it had too many “why didn’t they just do … “

  2. I thought that Promethues was predictable and very disappointing when I first watched it. However since subsequent viewing it has grown on me as one of the best films of 2012 (just as blade runner grew on me – remember it was panned by critics initially). Promethues has so many symbolisms to it and it is essentially a modern day christmas story:

    1) They arrive on the planet LV-223 on the 25th of December (remember the captain decorating the Christmas tree)

    2) Shaw states she can not have children yet she miraculously has birth to a alien hybrid similar to that of Mary with Jesus.

    3) LV-223 = Leviticus 22:3 in the bible–
    “For the generations to come, if any of your descendants is
    ceremonially unclean and yet comes near the sacred offerings… that
    person must be cut off from my presence. I am the Lord.”

    This is only one of several interpretations. You also have the Greek Promethues metaphor in the film as well and many other variations and double narratives. You can watch this video if you are interested in more analysis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u94wR0NfewE

Leave a Reply

