Red lights (2012) Movie review – It’s a decent ”do people really speak to the dead” movie

I was expected this to be total garbage,I was pleasantly surprised…

Psychologist Margaret Matheson (Sigourney Weaver) and her side kick (Cillian Murphy) teach at the local university when they are not testing people’s claims to be able to speak to the other side.

The movie is original in the sense that it explores area’s of uncertainty and moves from case to case proving psychic characters wrong,that is until they come across a psychic that has fewer people doubting him.

This is probably Robert De niro’s best film in ten years,the story is interesting and his character has many sides,more than that,it’s the first time De niro has made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up since he played a nutter in Cape fear.

*SPOILER ALERT*

As much as I enjoyed this new direction and topic, the movie really falls to the ground like a pack of cards near the end,it tries to be to clever,the foreplay up until the last ten minutes of the film was great,but it was like teasing a women with orgasm’s in the bar,then lasting two minutes in the bedroom when you got back to hers,the only people who climaxed in this movie was the writers of this ending,it just ruined what would have been a good movie in my opinion.

6.5/10

KO

4 thoughts on “Red lights (2012) Movie review – It’s a decent ”do people really speak to the dead” movie”

  1. I was also left disappointed by this movie, and I think it would have been so much better if the setting was a little more normal. I just couldn’t get invested in this slightly different world, and I think it would have played much better in a normal setting even if that did take a bit from the importance of what the characters are doing. I first heard about this movie from a coworker at DISH, and because it had so many great actors in it I decided to rent it. I added it to my Blockbuster @Home queue, and it came in the mail today. The performances were pretty good, but it really felt lacking in substance. I am glad that I only rented it because this movie is just not quite there, and that disappointing since it had such promise with great actors and a philosophical story.

  2. It’s in fact very complicated in this full of activity life to listen news on Television, thus I only use world wide web for that reason, and take the hottest news.

Leave a Reply

