Seeking a friend for the end of the world(2012) Movie review – Nice idea but after 20 mins the movie is doomed!

The idea was…. different,to seek a friend for the end of the world ?

It doesn’t really work,Steve Carell has a direct line to my funny bone but after 20mins this movie just seems to coast to a lazy conclusion with a added toping of emotional heart ache.

Keira Knightley plays the English female lead who is a bit crazy and very impulsive,I just found her boring most of the time.

This is a strange movie,it has elements of chaos mixed with dark humour, it’s a brave and original idea which I applaud but the result is a disjointed movie that would be easy to turn off half way through and not have any curiosity of how the film might have ended.

5/10

KO

3 thoughts on “Seeking a friend for the end of the world(2012) Movie review – Nice idea but after 20 mins the movie is doomed!”

  1. I liked it and pretty sure I reviewed it on my blog. It is almost two movies in one though. The first taking the premise in a comedic way then the second as the end draws nearer is a serious film. Like you and a friend said the change was a bit too jarring for him but both work for me.

  2. I am not sure Keira and Steve shared that much chemistry on screen,I didn’t buy their relationship as friends or on a romantic level,as mentioned I applaud the effort,it just didn’t work in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

