Cloud atlas (2012) Movie review – Long-winded but worth a watch

I know there has been a lot of hype over this movie,it has an array of fabulous acting talent including Tom Hanks,Jim Broadbent and Ben Whishaw.

The premise is unique,I cannot remember a movie that simultaneously moves through the decades and show’s how peoples actions and choices effect their future generation,you could refer to Back to the future or Frequency but in both those films they chose and communicated with the past to the solve the future,in this epic they are only showing the ripple effect of peoples actions.

I enjoyed it but I found myself checking how long I had been watching after 90 minutes and realised I had a way to go,I kept telling myself that I needed to keep watching to the end as I am sure it would be worth it,It wasn’t, the problem with following half a dozen people in a movie is there needs to be an interest in all of them,I found roughly half of them interesting which meant when the less entertaining characters kept turning up in the different decades my attention would start to wane,added to the fact that the movie is on for 172 minutes, the movie starts to become a chore rather than a pleasure.

I like the idea and the effort but in my opinion the final result was off the mark.

KO

6/10

Movie description  –

An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution

4 thoughts on “Cloud atlas (2012) Movie review – Long-winded but worth a watch”

  1. Another movie I saw twice within a few weeks. So much to cover and absorb. Its one people love or really dislike. Its worth the effort as you discovered. BTW the original Butterfly Effect is one if the best time paradox movies.

Leave a Reply

