Rounders (1998) Movie review – This movie is a straight flush on the poker table!

This movie probably captures poker better than any other,you have the matter of the game itself but more importantly it show’s the emotion behind the game.

In this case Matt Damon delivers a performance that falls not far behind Good Will hunting,he narrates the movie well which fits perfectly to allow you into a card players mind.

I like around 90% of this film,in fact I would go as far as saying 90% of the film is outstanding,I think having the cliché moral girlfriend is a bit of drag,I don’t really get the impression that Matt’s character likes her,never mind loves her,this is the only part of the film that feels forced,I think it would have played better if he was just trying to play his life straight rather than steer clear of cards because his girlfriend said so…

Edward Norton plays the bad egg well and pulls the story and movie along nicely,I like how the two leads come together and how they leave each other,it feels very realistic and brings a nice edge to the film.

I am sure there are a million kids who watch Rocky then fantasies about becoming the next heavyweight boxer of the world,well this movie makes you want to play poker,this is maybe a less healthier motivation but the film does inspire me to become a better poker player.

Vegas here I come!

8/10

KO

QUOTES:

”I hear you asking before and I hear you asking now”

”Listen, here’s the thing. If you can’t spot the sucker in the first half hour at the table, then you ARE the sucker”

”You can’t lose what you don’t put in the middle”

”They’re trying to goad me, trying to own me. But this isn’t a gunfight. It’s not about pride or ego. It’s only about money. I can leave now, even with Grama and KGB… and halfway to paying Petrovsky back. That’s the safe play. I told Worm you can’t lose what you don’t put in the middle. But you can’t win much either.”

Leave a Reply

