Major Payne (1995) Movie review; They really could have gone places with Payne if this wasn’t a kids movie!

This is the first time I have seen this movie,I had low expectations as I had never heard of it,it was a true comedy delight when being introduced to the lead character at the start of the film,I found 99% of what he did hilarious,if Arnold Schwarzenegger,Jim Carey and Whoopi Goldberg ever had a threesome Major Payne would be the resulting birth.

Some of the quotes,faces and voices were outstandingly funny,I found myself laughing out loud and questioning how I had missed this film on its release.

After ten minutes I felt slightly disappointed that the movie takes a turn for the worse by involving kids,I have no problem with kids but the character that Damon Wayans has created is just too funny to be wasted on children,there is always going to be a moral line that is never going to be crossed with kids in the picture, with adults the possibilities would have been endless.

I still enjoyed the movie and will happily watch it with my son when he is old enough,I just instantly took to Major Payne’s humour and would have preferred him out on the street rather than in a school.

6/10

KO

Quotes;
Because he’s six? (MP)Woman, when I was six years old I had a full time job.

You’re still a shit sandwich. You’re just not a soggy one. From this moment, you are no longer turds. You have graduated to maggots!

[on the rained-out obstacle course] Move it, you turds! You’ll get no sympathy from me! You want sympathy, look in the dictionary between “spit” and “syphilis!”… You there! Tell Marlee Matlin’s son to get across that rope before I hang him with it!

3 thoughts on “Major Payne (1995) Movie review; They really could have gone places with Payne if this wasn’t a kids movie!”

Leave a Reply

