The Spanish prisoner (1997) Movie review; This is one of my favourite films

This is one of my favourite films,the plot has many layers and the relationship between Steve Martin and Cambell Scott is tantalizingly entertaining.

Steve Martin puts in one of his most stand out performances in a movie,when the movie was released I remember the reports of him playing in this role,and that it was a serious non comedic role,straight away I thought of how terrible that sounds,when I finally got round to seeing the Spanish prisoner I was blown away by him,they say that a lot of comedic actors have a dark side which makes it easier for them to flip their character,I suppose the prime example would be Robin Williams,that said I think Steve wins hands down with this performance,he really does play it to a point that makes yearn for more when the final credits come up at the end.

The whole movie is about misdirection and I have to say the director pulls it off ( David Mamet ) when you think you know what is happening the rug gets pulled beneath you,a truly delightful film to watch.

8/10

KO

2 thoughts on “The Spanish prisoner (1997) Movie review; This is one of my favourite films”

Leave a Reply

