The Lady (2011) Movie review;One of the most underrated films you will ever see!

I never had a clue about this film before pressing play,based on the front cover I would have said it was a story about an Asian lady who strives to find love and fights to be with the love of her life.

The story is nothing like the front cover,( you could argue that it is the opposite in fact) you could say that the title of the film is relevant and is a nice tribute to the lady herself but I feel that if you take the front cover and the title you are doing a disservice to this film and the true story,the rating of the film is marked at a 6, which is remarkably low for such an insightful and beautiful movie,so while I am not saying every movie has to highlight their ingredients on the front page I do feel that the real lack of marketing and awareness hampered this films success at the box office,in the west anyway…..

Much like the ” Last king of Scotland” this movie is about a corrupt government,this time it is Burma’s chance to embarrass itself,after Aung San Suu’s father was shot in a political war this story is about ” a Lady”  who feels it is her destiny to fight for the rights of her own people and leave her cushy life in the UK behind her,I say this in jest as she did not have a lot of choice as the film explores.

I do have my own feelings about the decisions she made, I question her happiness and fulfilment in the UK before she decided to take on the Burmese government,I take nothing away from what she did,I just think there was a question asked in this film,I believe most mothers would have chosen the other option,my point being that if the family were based in Burma and the UK government were corrupt would she have done the same thing if she was called upon ?, she swapped a peaceful family life in the UK were she was regarded as a nobody for a life as national hero who everybody admired due to her fathers importance to the previous generation.

I still recommend the film.

8/10

KO

Leave a Reply

