The Great Gatsby: Movie Review – Hip Hoping around the 1920’s

 I don’t think you can go into this movie without reading the book first. “If you do, then I think you will be slightly disappointed”. Why I hear you ask? Well you always want to compare a classic book to a movie, to see if the director can catch the magic of words and transverse them into a spectacle on the screen. You’ve seen it many times throughout cinematic history that it takes a special kind of talent to make it work or the wrong type of somebody to totally destroy its vision.

 When I use the word classic, that’s the opinion I have heard splattered left and right about this book. Personally I’m not in that crowd of people who think this book is that great. Yes, I agree it’s well written, but I found it rather boring. The movie does what rarely happens and takes this dull story into a proper jazz filled romp fest. Nothing is spared when showing the life of the extremely well off crowd.

 I was expecting an easy paced movie, where the acting was going to be the crux of everything to come. As the opening credits subsided, I felt like I was slapped around the face after just being woken up and dragged full swing into a hip hop/jazz shindig. There were times throughout though when I was asking questions! More like wondering, that there wasn’t much of a story to be told. What kept me gripped was the style of the movie, the cinematography was fantastic.

 Leonardo was his usual assertive self, but I’m not sure he was the perfect guy to play Gatsby. From the book I had a feeling Gatsby was more chiselled and more dashing. Leo was carrying a little too much weight for this role, but still enjoyable to watch. Carey Milligan was hot and cold as Daisy, very good at the beginning, than her character turned into someone different from the book.  I had reservations about Toby Maguire playing Nick Caraway, but in the end he put in a good performance.

 This movie is not a perfect movie, but enjoyable none the less.

 7/10

Yappy

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby: Movie Review – Hip Hoping around the 1920’s”

  1. I can’t wait to see it. I loved the book 40 years ago, and am distanced enough to see the movie as just a movie. As I recall, the book is more about the optimism of Gatsby.

Leave a Reply

