The Iceman (2012) Movie review; Michael Shannon is all wrong for this story

I was living in Asia at the time when I stumbled across the Iceman book, the previous tenant at my apartment had left it there,weeks went by before I took the time to read it, after a few pages I was hooked, this killer seemed different, he seemed to take a sadistic approach in squeezing pleasure out of his victims last moments of life.

When I finished the book in three days I watching the documentary online, the thing that struck me about Richard Kuklinski was he icy cold humour, there was a ” So what” and a ” F*ck you” wrote across his face, for a man who had killed so many people I was shocked to find myself liking him, the human mind is a wonderful thing but we can normally associate certain traits to certain individuals, for a man in Richards shoes I would have expected a crazy character or man with not a lot to say, so when the guy actually starts making sense when he talks he rewrites the script for who has come before him.

Back to film and the biggest thing that was clear was that Michael Shannon was all wrong to play Kuklinski, I love Shannon as an actor as he has the tools to create scenes with a powerful purpose, but I did not find in him the great degree of interest that I found in the book and the real man on YouTube, Shannon comes off as a uncomfortable weirdo at times, I didn’t feel the calculated meaness that was Kuklinski.

I also think the director messed up this film, at no point do you feel any real tension or danger in the film, he directs the film as if Richard is just another character in a book along with all the other characters, I would have preferred a much more meatier Richard, one that shows how his nerves when he first killed someone, what it felt like and how he experimented on ways of killing people, the film portrays what happened as nothing special, there is no balance from the norm’ to the insane, the result is Michael Shannon wandering around slicing people’s throats without any build up or back story to each event that would bring any kind of excitement or danger to the movie, as a result this makes for what is a boring movie, they have taken a very interesting story and made it dull.

5/10

KO

3 thoughts on “The Iceman (2012) Movie review; Michael Shannon is all wrong for this story”

  1. Interesting point about Shannon. I haven’t seen this movie, but I agree that his strength lies in slow build-up to explosive bouts of rage and emotion. That’s what made Take Shelter so compelling, and Man of Steel/Premium Rush such wasted roles for him. In any case, I still want to see this for myself before writing it off completely.

Leave a Reply

