Ride Along (2014) Movie review; A sulky Cube with a happy Hart!

Kevin Hart has been compared to Eddie Murphy, as a Brit I have not seen a lot of him but after looking at snippets of his stand up and a few films here and there he does have the same type of humour that Eddie delivered but I would not class him in the same league, Don’t get me wrong, Eddie has not made a decent movie in over a decade, he hasn’t appeared on stage in over three decades, but if you are comparing the two they are apples and oranges.

Kevin is very likable, he shows no sign of an ego which allows all the classes to relate to him, one thing he missesΒ  is the dangerous factor that Eddie and sometimes Chris Rock have in their material & more so in their performances.

This film is pretty average, the screen lights up when Hart has his time to shine but in-between these moments you have Ice Cube playing himself in a role he has played in EVERY movie he has ever appeared in, god I am bored with seeing this guy play the sulky gangsta with a heart.

Catch this movie when you can, don’t go out your way!

5/10

21 thoughts on “Ride Along (2014) Movie review; A sulky Cube with a happy Hart!”

  1. I had a chance to see this yesterday, but opted not to. Just doesn’t look very good.

    You didn’t make me regret that decision. Good review!

  2. The latter, I saw nothing interesting or good about the movie apart from the girl and her life being a bit sad and sweet at times, you really had me scratching my head when I got to the end, I can not believe this was the best film you saw in 2013 ?

  3. Then we definitely have very different experiences with it. I think all of the characters are complex and compelling, and the lack of preachiness in the message delivery brilliant. But I explain all of that in my own review. πŸ™‚

  4. I will check out your review, I don’t like reading reviews before seeing the film, the characters may have been complex but nothing of real value happens, I honestly thought when I got to the end that a friend of yours must be attached to the film and that’s why you rated it so highly, I guess we wont be agreeing on this one. πŸ™‚

  5. I do not know anyone involved. πŸ™‚

    For what it’s worth, Wadjda, last I check, had a 99% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes, out of some 100 reviews. I am certainly not alone in calling it brilliant.

    Though I do acknowledge it is not plot-based, and therefore has no grandiose plot developments. It is all about theme and character, as the best message movies usually are.

  6. I think I will have to re-watch it, my wife gave birth to twins last week so sleep has been limited since, a movie does not have to have an explosive plot for me to enjoy it, there are several factors that make it interesting for me, I will re-watch as on first viewing did nothing for me…

  7. Well then. I respect your resolve. When I respond so negatively to a film, rewatching it is the last thing I’m keen on doing. πŸ™‚

    Congratulations, by the way, on the twins! I have two daughters (5 and 2.5) myself, and I know exhausted I can get. I cannot imagine how you must feel with two newborns at once.

  8. Amen.

    Though I do wonder if anyone ever gives him opportunity to play a different character. It’s not as if he’s exhibited all that much range, you know?

  9. I agree but as this movie was produced by Cube productions you would think he chooses what roles he wants, I just think maybe a father figure which doesn’t involve him playing the same character from Boyz in the hood.

  10. Thank you, we already have a 2 year old boy, the first night was hell with the twins, every twenty minutes one of them was crying, after that first day they have been pretty great, just gotta accept that I wont be sleeping for more than 3/4 hours at one time, if Dr Brown offered me a time I could transport to, it would be 2016, I know the next two years are the bonding process but there is very little interaction until they reach that certain age, until then I will deal with 6000 nappies πŸ™‚

  11. Fast forwarding to when their two? Yeah. I can empathize with that emotion. It is so much work when they are so young (still a lot when they get older too, but it’s a different kind. And you’re better rested).

    And 3 under 3? Wow.

  12. Sorry. How’s this?

    Oh come on … Three under three just means you get extra doses of that sweet time that goes by in a flash and that you won’t see again.

  13. I wanted to hate this, but I just couldn’t. Kevin Hart made me laugh just a little too much to walk out of this angrily and for that, I gave it the slightest recommendation I could. Wish, thankfully, seems to be the same thing you did. Thank you for not making me feel alone!

Leave a Reply

