Why do I keep getting spam comments on certain posts ? – WordPress blog

Hi,

I am really frustrated with WordPress help page so I thought it best to ask my fellow bloggers, I have always got the odd spam comment since I have had this blog for the last few years but more recently the system which blocks the spam seem’s to be getting bypassed, I have deleted one post due to receiving several spam comments a day ?

Can anyone shed any light on how to battle this epidemic.

Genuine comments welcome πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Why do I keep getting spam comments on certain posts ? – WordPress blog”

  1. I get a couple a week that pass through the spam filter. They aren’t too much of an annoyance to me since they’re sort of infrequent, but I totally understand your frustration. You could consider closing the comments sections on older posts, but then of course people who are new to your blog wouldn’t be able to comment on them. As far as I know that’s the only real solution WP offers for when the spam filters don’t work.

  2. Thanks Lindsey and everyone else, I just tend to be plagued by companies posting generic compliments about how much they love my blog and writing, would love this to be true but there is nothing personal in their message,having seen the same message over and over again it becomes pretty easy to spot the fakes, I will just edit my email notifications and check for changes when I log into WordPress, I can’t think of any other way doing it as for some reason W’P filter is not picking them up, thanks for responding people πŸ™‚

  3. Yeah I think that’s what I ended up doing. I feel ya man, spam comments irked me deeply. Fortunately I haven’t had any in awhile and I figured thats a direct result of having control over approving comments. πŸ˜€

  4. I approve all comments, that is the bit that’s annoying, I have to direct several comments a day to the spam folder, they don’t show on the blog itself, just tired of seeing them, oh well, I was hoping to solve the problem but I guess it’s just a case of getting on with it.

Leave a Reply

