West ham squad for the 2012/13 – Solid players in the hope for a solid season

I’m encouraged by the players and squad that Sam Allardyce and the West ham board have put together.

If you go back to the season we got relegated we were surrounded by players and characters who had no feeling for the club or no pride to play for the shirt full stop –

Hitzlsberger ,Upson,Dyer,Barrera ,Piquionne (Still there but no for long),Keane.

They were managed by Avram Grant who couldn’t inspire a dog to eat a biscuit.

Back to the present and the club are looking in fine shape,we know we are not gonna be spraying the ball around like we use to when we had Bishop,Dicanio and Trevor Sinclair,but we also know we wont get beat easily,a lot of West ham fans forget that our record away from home has been dire for a long time,we didn’t have a great squad so when you try to play like brazil the result is players losing heart when they get smashed 5 – 0 (Newcastle away 2010)

I didn’t think I would ever applaud the direct approach but I am coming round to it,when the team are playing long ball its a good method of making a team hard to beat and hard to play against,the team are trained to always pick up those second balls,there is more to the tactic than hope for the best,It’s not pretty but neither is our financial bank balance,until we can compete with the top 6 in transfer market I am happy to go along with this tactic,better to be stable in this league rather up and down the divisions for the next few seasons.

New additions for the West ham squad 2012/2013 ;

The defence –

Goalkeeper –

Jaaskelelainen – This is our weakest link in my opinion,a few years ago he was a great keeper,but there were occasions last year that he looked a little past it,I hope i’m wrong.

James Collins – It’s like he never left,on his second debut he was fantastic against his former club,solid in the air and always willing to put his body in the line.

George McCartney  – This guy must have West ham in his blood,he looks like a world beater at time for us,every time he leaves his performances drop dramatically,he was even rejected at Leeds last year before coming back to us.

Mohammed Diame – This is the man who has impressed me the most so far,he looks quick,can run with the ball and is not afraid to mix it up with the opposition,I predict all going well that he will be a West ham favourite for next few seasons.

Alou Diarra – French international – Played for France at Euro 2012,I would imagine he will be our water carrier,but not a bad choice,when you consider the options the French manager has at his disposal I think we star in Alou,I see him as our Makelele.

Matt Jarvis – I have been impressed with his performances for Wolves,an old fashioned winger who has an eye for goal,I don’t think we had this type of winger since Mathew Ethrington left or you even say Mathew Holmes.

Modibo Miaga – When the rumours started that we were in for him I had a look on Youtube like everyone else,my first impression was that he was light weight and looked to be falling over a lot,the French league is not a competitive as ours,I just hope Big Sam coaches the dives out of his game.

I predict a top 12 finish by West ham this year.

KO

2 thoughts on “West ham squad for the 2012/13 – Solid players in the hope for a solid season”

  1. West Ham should be fine this year and I don’t think Sam Allardyce has ever got relegated from the Premier League before so that is a good sign so I think 12th is a good prediction

Leave a Reply

